Beginner The most overshot location in the Lake District!

Name
Dave
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All,

My first post here and a little nervous to say the least! I feel like a big fish outta water!

As I'm new into all this I literally don't know anywhere to go locally and have took many pictures but have just not felt they are good enough to post. I managed to get some filters and thought I'd get myself to 2 locations that I knew, which are also used very often! As you can see the Ashness Jetty is 1/3 under water as we've had a lot of rain!

Critique certainly welcome, but I will say that to begin with I'm just getting to grips with the camera and how it works more than the composition of the image.

Thanks for looking,

Dave.

[url=https://flic.kr/p/qo75c8]

[url=https://flic.kr/p/pHwoKJ]
[/url][/url]

Hi Dave

I'm no expert with landscapes but I wold say that if these are your 1st attempts you've done really well (y) & who care's if the locations have been shot before many times....not by you they haven't ..
Pick of the bunch for me is #1....I love that you got few fluffy clouds , some lovely light hitting the hill to the right , a nice lead in line with the river & the exposure & sharpness look good overall :clap: The only slight niggle is the water seems to have a gone just past the " I love that milky look" limit for me ( but that's a personal thing) , if you could pull it back a smidge then for me , the image would be just perfect :)

Thanks blondie. Means a lot to get good comments as I've spent a fortune in fuel driving about and had nothing! But today just felt right. I was a bit late getting out but paid off as Skiddaw was nicely lit.

I didn't want such a high aperture but was on Manual and kind of overlooked it. I've been very surprised how little shutter speed you need for the misty effect. Perhaps I'll speed it up a bit next time!

Thanks for your comments!

Dave.