Under my umbrella

Name
Tim
Edit My Images
Yes
OK, total novice here with studio lighting which I took delivery of last Saturday. I've been experimenting previously using a single light with a large soft box or beauty dish as I figured learning with one as advised was sensible. I had to order a couple of items during the week as one does while she who must be obeyed has her eye elsewhere (she is very understanding in actuality). I thought I'd try a white in black out, umbrella as they're cheap as chips, to further my learning with the lighting. Thus far I've realised I need to up my attention to camera orientated settings and I'm now totally responsible for the light which adds a whole other set of things I can do badly.

I've had some really helpful input from a number of people here in respect of the lighting, and I've taken some shots which probably show my total lack of experience. However rightly or wrongly I am getting a few shots which are lit as I intended whether that be good or bad. Having been chilled to the core yesterday whilst trying to get some Oyster Catchers, I figured today I'd employ a £5.00 black table cloth suspended by a length of curtain wire, and a single light with the brolly. Yes, I have a long way to go with getting on top of using lighting but once again I have a few shots which to my mind justify the expenditure and my embarking upon this particular discipline with the camera. Thanks for taking the time to view.

Regards

Tim

Beth Camera 3AA.jpg Beth Sax 2AA.jpg

Hi Tim,

Sorry cannot give any criticism will leave that to the experts, however I do like the last few pictures you have posed.

I like these due to composition and lighting.

Lighting is very addictive and you are lucky you have beautiful and willing model.

Kev

sep9001, thank you very much for taking a look at the pictures and commenting, always good to get feedback from people regardless of their own areas of expertise.