Using Photoshop to draw simple plans?

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
Yes
During the lockdown period I started painting Mandala stones and to help me with the painting I built a small, lathe like "tool" to hold the stones as I painted them. This "tool" has proved so popular with the online dotting community they have asked me to make and supply them but that's not what I want to do. As an alternative, someone suggested I draw up a set of plans showing how I made the "tool" and send them out as a .PDF.

Can anyone please advise if it would be possible to do such a thing in Photoshop or maybe Photoshop would not be suitable for doing this?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Table Stones II.jpg

The online dotting community.. :)

@stevelmx5 is a bit of a whiz with 3d mockup thingies and may be able to point you in the right direction....

The online dotting community.. :)

@stevelmx5 is a bit of a whiz with 3d mockup thingies and may be able to point you in the right direction....
Thanks Ian. It's just simple plans drawn in 2D that I'm trying to do in Photoshop. Drawings with dimensions of the shapes I cut out of MDF to form the "tool" (I'll have to think of a name for it).

Maybe photograph them and add dimensions in PS/PP. Or trace round the edges of the shaped bits with a black Sharpie (other felt tip pens are probably available!)

Maybe photograph them and add dimensions in PS/PP. Or trace round the edges of the shaped bits with a black Sharpie (other felt tip pens are probably available!)
Thanks Nod, that makes great sense and would be much simpler to do than trying to use PS for drawing plans. Brilliant idea.

It is quite feasible to do this in photoshop; especially if you are only making plans and not templates. Probably the best way of making the unusual shapes is to draw them with the pen tool and then use the "stroke path" option.

Last edited: