Warwick Castle

Name
Rob
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi
As per my previous posts, I am new to photography and have only just received my first decent camera. Yesterday I went to Warwick castle and took some snaps. I am really pleased with these two shots so I am throwing them out there for your opinions if people would be as kind as to give me some pointers. They aren't of the actual castle, but are of a staircase in the castle and some arrows in a guards tower.

Quiver And Arrows
by Forsyth1987, on Flickr

Down The Stairs We Go
by Forsyth1987, on Flickr

I like them. First has some real nice muted colours and a decent composition. Might just straighten the hanger thing a touch?
Second one has a good, sharp point of focus and I like the composition here as well although a slight crop might improve it a bit.
Coincidentally I was there yesterday as well but mostly got shots of Mike the Knight and my three year old :)

Thanks. I know what you mean about the hanger. I nearly cropped it out the shot myself, but worried about the string then just disappearing out of the frame without the viewer knowing how its hanging. Would this affect the overall photo do you think or am I over thinking this being so new at the game? I didn't even notice it was wonky until i got home as I was just using the viewfinder and not the screen as well but lessons learned and all that.

I have a couple of Mike the knight and the maiden in pink (no idea on her name) but they were more in passing as with not having a kid I couldn't really stop and take photos with them.

I'm fairly sure I very carefully made my way down those stairs a couple of summers back when a friends wedding there...I really do like the stairs photo a lot the soft daylight works really well but I do think I'd warm the colours a little and I mean just a little bring out the warm honey tones of the wood, nothing wrong with the arrows per say IMO I'm just not really attracted to it :(

Matt