Which dslr please help

Name
Ken
Edit My Images
Yes
Can I just start by saying, I have been viewing posts from this forum for the last couple of weeks and I am well impressed with everyone’s photo’s, this has inspired me to join. I am very new to photography and until last summer 04 had never used a camera. I purchased an Olympus c-450 zoom and I am very pleased with the quality of pictures it produces. However, I would like to gain more control over the camera and would like to attempt dslr. Baring in mind I know nothing at all about photography nor understand the cameras functions and how to use them, I would still very much like to become more in control with what I shoot. I am quick to learn and have already learned so much from your forum, I find photography very therapeutic and rewarding but somewhat expensive, as my wife keeps pointing out. So my dilemma. I am interested in purchasing a camera to suit my needs and my wife’s strict budget, having a quick search I have compiled the following cameras and wondered what your opinions are on the following.
Olympus C-8080 at £404
Fujifilm Finepix S7000 at £263
Canon EOS300D at £499
Fuji S5500 at £220
All of the above cameras are kits with lenses and my max budget would be £500 with some sweet talking. I don’t want to buy cheap only to wish I spent that little extra again. So please can you give your advise on these or any other camera.
Many thanks in advance,
Ken.

Well of the four you have listed, only one is actualy a dslr. SLR stands for Single Lens Reflex which basically means it has one lens which you look through and take the picture through so what you see is what you get kind of thing, the D is just for digital.