Wife - First time with flash

Name
Craig
Edit My Images
Yes
Following my recent thread asking for advice regarding off-camera flash, I bought some bits and pieces and had a play last night. There are lots of things I did wrong as I've never used a flash before and I'm not overly impressed with this shot, it was more meant to be a chance to have a play with the equipment. My wife was very patient with me!

One thing is I had to use the 5-in-1 reflector as my background, I took some other shots using the reflector to get some fill light on the dark side of her face but the background is messy. You'll notice the shoulders are fading too, I ended up taking this into photoshop to add the black background as the makeshift background reflector was very creased. Nor do I know how to pose people correctly, still the most to learn in this area I think, we tried a few at different angles but they weren't quite working (more I wasn't flattering her with the angles) hence going for this straight ahead low key type look.

So in summary, a lot to learn, but fairly happy for a very first attempt with limited equipment (plenty added to the shopping list!)

C&C welcome.

Tabs Portrait Session A
by Craigus89, on Flickr

OK, how did you want this to look? Did it work as intended, or was this a 'lucky outcome' from your POV?

Well it did work as I intended to an extent. I knew with one light and not much knowledge of how it works that I would be a bit limited, so decided to try and get a rembrandt type of lighting, but I think the shadows have been pulled out a bit much for that?

Perhaps - the eye/cheek that was in shadow doesn't look quite right to me because of the shadow from her nose. I'm no expert, but might have turned her a little more towards the light source to reduce the nose shadow.