B&W Winter Sun rays

Name
Lee
Edit My Images
No
I've been pushing my boundaries a touch and taking some HDR landscapes. Don't class myself as an absolute beginner but I don't think I am that proficient in either HDR or landscapes. When I look at HDR photos, I generally prefer them to look natural but I have pushed this shot further than I normally would and wondered what peoples thoughts were?

Comments welcome. Many thanks for looking.

[url=https://flic.kr/p/CfqRUQ]Rays of winter Sun by Lee Francis, on Flickr[/URL]

To be honest Lee, I'm not sure that it works. It is certainly striking, well composed and so on, but perhaps works best as a digital art piece rather than a landscape photograph.

I do like the rays. Was it taken in colour and changed to BW in PP? If so would like to see the colour version.

Lee .... looks an interesting image but I'd look at re-processing

IMHO, the blown whites have gone really past it to "silver" and the blacks are not dramatic enough

Happy New Year

HDR is fine, just maybe the processing of that HDR that has let down what looks like a good image.

I walked away from Photomatix and its competitors as they were just too much for me - making everything I took, look like a LSD induced hallucination. I went through a process of overdoing my processing and have toned it down a lot. Looking back at my HDR images, they look ugly and have not stood the test of time at all - though initially they looked "amazing" to me, it wore off.

The way I now process them is a few simple steps, I tend to load them up into a stack, flatten them (aligned first of course) then save them as a TIFF and throw the TIFF back into Camera Raw, from where I then have a massive amount of stops of exposure to play with (if I choose to dodge and burn), giving it a realistic look but controlling how much "HDR"'ness I want to show in the image.

I think if you were to re-process that, it be a right belter - especially in colour (y)