Landscape photos (without a UWA lens)

Edit My Images
Yes
Need some advice please! I'm planning on doing a trek up Mount Snowdon end of this month and would like to take my camera gear up and do take some landscape scenes.

However, I don't have an ultra wide angle lens and am thinking that as its more or less a one-off thing I'm doing its not worth me buying one (as I'l hardly use it after). I don't want to have to carry loads of lenses either so the lens I have got and am considering taking is the Sigma 17-70 f/2.8-4.5.

My question is will this lens be ok for me for the type of shot I want? I know its a bit difficult to judge without knowing the actual scene unless anyone's experienced with photography on/at Snowdon?

I'm just an amateur/hobbyist btw not looking to make photographs that are going to make me money but I want them to be of a near pro standard at least (for my own satisfaction).

If anyone has taken landscape scenes with this lens I'd really like to see if they dont mind showing?

I guess my other option is to look at hiring something like 10-20 Sigma but it seems quite pricy to me to do just that once factoring in delivery costs etc ends up being £50-60

Final option is if anyone near to me (Luton/bedfordshire) is willing to lend me a suitable lens for a day or two? I'd collect/return myself, pay a small fee even drop a deposit in case of any accidents!

Why not just use your normal lens and then stitch the images together?

I used my 18-55mm kit lens for the grand canyon and Yosemite National park and it was fine!

Hi,

I bought a Sigma 10-20 UWA a while ago to compliment my Sigma 17-70, the reason being I thought it would be very useful for my landscape shots, however I'm considering selling it as I still find 90% of my shots suit the 17-70 better...

my advice is take the 17-70, it'll be perfect !!

Simon