Taking Photos at Gigs

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
Yes
Was reading the T&C's of The Forum (@ Mean Fiddler) where I am heading in April to a Porcupine Tree gig as I wanted to see what they said about cameras - it says no to "making unauthorised audio, video or photographic recordings" - so other than smuggling your kit in (& searching is normal in the current climate apparently) is there any way of getting permission to make "authorised recordings"? - Who would you contact? The gig promoter presumably?
If stopped in possession of a camera I presume they would refuse you entry with the camera or seize it? or do they just refuse you entry?
Anyone any experience of this? Wouldn't be keen on handing my camera to some neanderthall door geezer tbh (what would they do with it?) or not being able to get in to the gig?
Hope you can help ... Paul (y)

Best thing is to phone up the venue and ask m8.

I'm a photographer for my mates music website,he and i in the past have just got in contact with the band manager and just ask them,i'm actually going to ask porcupine tree if we can do the gig in preston too..I was told i had a photo pass for Ok Go..yet when we got there the band manager was being a wee bit arsey,there were some others there too and they had been waiting for ages to get in,we all got let in a few minutes before Ok Go came on but she forgot my AAA pass,they do tend to forget so my best advice is to keep reminding them.And if you dont have a pass its not worth bringing your camera as they will take it off you,but normally they just say to get it in your bag or they will take it.anyho heres the contact details..good luck :)

http://www.porcupinetree.com/community.contact.cfm