Help! Student Research

Name
Matt
Edit My Images
No
Hi all, new user to this website so not sure if this thread will be successful.

I'm a student in my final year of study where I am studying Product Design and my final year project is self directed therefore I have to select my own topic of interest, this being photography.

What I am interested in researching is if digital cameras add less value to photographs because of the difficulties in storing photos digitally, and therefore does this have an effect on the memories and emotions that photos provide. Photographs are important in peoples emotional lives and I want know if and how the digital age of photography is affecting this.

Before digital cameras came along, people used to store their photos in shoe boxes or photo albums, often in an organized manner, but with photos being digital nowadays do people still go to the extra effort to get their photos printed and organized.

Do people prefer digital cameras and the opportunities they provide or is it better to have a physical photo to reflect upon bringing back memories?

Please feel free to comment or add your own opinion to this post as anything will be appreciated to help with my research.

If you have access to a online library of reading material, there's a piece of work either called 'snapshot' or 'snapshots' and it talks about the throw away lifestyle of digital photography (if I remember rightly.) I studied all this in my 2nd year of the photography degree. Unfortunately I cannot remember the author. Also you should be able to get hold of information such as archiving (look at a program called 'shooting the past' it was a drama on the bbc a while ago) and the idea of a photo. A photo is a physical item.3