Johnny Depp Visits a Greenwich School

Name
Darryl
Edit My Images
No
I had a great day at work today, I work in a school in Greenwich and we had Johnny Depp come and visit all the kids during a school assembly. He has been filming the new Pirates of the Caribbean film up the road and one of our kids had wrote a letter to Captain Jack about how our kids want to mutiny and join his crew. This had tickled his fancy and he wanted to meet the little girl that had written the letter. He came in character as Captain Jack Sparrow, with more security than I need when I go and cash my wages.

I have got to say, “he seemed a very down to earth, genuine good chap” he didn’t have to come. He or the filming company didn’t court any publicity at all. He spoke to all those who got to say hello to him, and seemed to enjoy himself. All the kids got to sing our “pirate song” to him and 6 of the cast members, who in turn then broke into some pirates “jig” to the whole school.

P.S. I took a few good photos of the goings on and some were used on London Tonight TV News, videoed from my computer screen. Some were even in focus this time!!!!:cool: See Here

That must have been such a thrill for everyone at the school, especially the one that sent the letter ...

Drove between the Maritime Museum and Greenwich University last week and wondered what they were filming there.

That's really good of him. She looked well chuffed.

nice one (y) thats really good for him to do that, I'm dead impressed. Excellent actor too :)

Ha, thats excellent

I love it when the little girl says "I sail" the reporter then laughs and she says "I do".

What a genuinely nice story - and as others have said, it wasn't a PR stunt.

Well done Mr Depp!

depp seems to shy away from the public eye as much as he can, it dosnt surprise me that he done that..what does surprise me that the film company didnt make it a pr exercise....

Great story, always admired him as an actor and he does seem a genuinely nice guy, superb.