Nikon VR lens?

Edit My Images
No
Hi

I'm going away on holiday soon and want a good quality zoom lens to take general shots with (portraits, landscapes etc). in particular i want it for taking candid shots of my little one from afar.

my two current options are the Nikon

55-200mm VR DX lens

70-300 VR lens

As i have a nikon d40x am i right in assuming these are compatible? Also what kinda prices are these at the moment?

Which out of the two is better?

sorry for all the questions but i'm a newbie and would greatly appreciate your well valued opinions

many thanks:)

Well I'm not really sure which is "better" - obviously the 300mm is longer and doesn't go quite as wide. The kit lens (18-55mm) will be better for landscapes as it goes as wide as 18mm.

They are both compatible.

Prices from Warehouse Express (huge online camera dealer, trustworthy, everyone uses them):

70-300mm VR £330

55-200mm VR £229

So £100 difference. If money is not an issue I would get the 300mm because it's longer, and you have the kit lens for wide shots.

Both are AF-S so will autofocus on your D40X
If time wasn't an issue I'd suggest you get a price from Kerso (PM from here)
Otherwise the Nikon AF-S Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6 G ED VR DX Lens is £172.99 at onestop-digital.com if you don't mind importing from HK & the Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G IF-ED VR Lens is £299.99 there also
If you want the best price in UK the www.camerapricebuster.co.uk will link to that for you
I have the 70-300VR & its a beauty :clap:
Paul

Im not saying its 'better' as such, but for the ultimate in convenience there is always the; Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED AF-S DX VR:)

Im not saying its 'better' as such, but for the ultimate in convenience there is always the; Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED AF-S DX VR:)