A Perfect Peak District Day

Name
James
Edit My Images
No
Hey up all,

I have some pictures here that I have been waiting 2 years for. I'd never so much as seen mist/fog in the valleys while I had a camera in my hand....anyway little did I know I was in for one of the best days I've ever had.

Now, some I really like and some are so/so to me, but I know how subjective photography is so thought i'd share them all and let you make your own minds up :)

I took hell of a lot on the day, but had to throw quite a few away, either down to flare caused by filters or just some silly mistakes like needing to use a higher aperture than f/11 when shooting into the sun. Shooting these scenes were a challenge for me, with it being something I've never done before and found composition quite tricky at times when theres no reference points and all there is is cloud. We live and learn and in 2 years time maybe I'll nail it :)

I woke up, bright and early again, this time it looked very unpromising but knowing we had a plasterer coming around at 8 that'd wake me up no doubt thought may as well go out, even if to explore.

The drive was a bit dodgey, with visibility quite low when you got to a bit of higher ground. My first stop was Curbar Edge but turning up and not being able to even see where I was parking hardly I turned around and reluctantly headed over to Mam Tor to see if there was anything there. I say reluctantly because Mam Tor is overdone and it is somewhere I've been a few times myself. However I knew the ground would be higher.

After more scary driving on the way, especially up Winnats Pass, I parked in the Mam Nick Car Park, still very much in the thick of it....setting off grumpy I headed up to the top of Mam Tor.

I'm glad I did, because I was to meet my first ever full cloud inversion. Here is what I got after a little waiting for the sun to come up

1)
mam_tor_cliff.jpg

I spent a couple of hours on Mam Tor, so here are my efforts. The light was fantastic.