Amateur Rugby Union (5th Attempt, at last good weather)

MWHCVT

In Memoriam
Name
Matthew
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, I am hoping to get some C&C on my shots from the RU match that I covered on Saturday, for those that are interested it was Copsewood RFC vs Coventrians RFC, with a final score of 15-27.

The conditions were really poor with it being really dark, windy and overall miserable, but I hope that I have made the best of the situation.

MWH077-20110115 by mwhcvt, on Flickr

MWH078-20110115 by mwhcvt, on Flickr

MWH068-20110115 by mwhcvt, on Flickr

MWH034-20110115 by mwhcvt, on Flickr

MWH100-20110115 by mwhcvt, on Flickr

MWH093-20110115 by mwhcvt, on Flickr

The full Set: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mwhcvt/sets/72157625706743353

I know that there are some really talented sports toggers on this site so I really appreciate your input on my attempt

Thanks for looking and your thoughts

Matt
MWHCVT

Last edited:
I'm no expert but here goes:

#1 I like the impression of movement here but see #2
#2 Man lying on the floor with a ball. If he was a famous man it might help, but otherwise only the subject will be interested I am afraid
#3 OK, but needs a ball in frame
#4 nothing much shot also missing the ball
#5 OK but the key player is blurred - keep shutter speeds higher. A noisy sharp shot is better than a noise free blurred one
#6 Best of the bunch. I always like shots of players scrambling for the ball but not many other viewers seem to.

Hope these help.

Hi Matt

1) Out of focus, bin it

2) Looks better and as its a try shot, i would probably keep it.

3) Why did you include this? there is no ball and you have the back of one player, interesting expression on the player in blue but, i would have binned it

4) Not too sure about this either, its well timed in that you have caught the tackle with the player in the air but again you can't see the ball and its a bit of a loose crop.