Basic information for Video work

Name
Eric Tearle
Edit My Images
No
I'm looking to transition from Photography into doing some video work. Mostly documentation/interview filming people so there will be a lot of talking on camera.

I'll be using a 5D and did a little research about Microphones also. But as I'm just starting out do I need to worry about XLR adapters for the microphone or will I still get good quality audio via microphone to camera attachment (via aux)?

Also, most of the interview will be sitting and I have decent tripods for that but with any kind of moment and following of subject will a frame be useful to me?

I didn't think the 5d could do video, the 5D2, yes. In any case for interview situations a lavalier mike is preferable to a camera mounted one, though a good starter mike is the Rode Videomic which is a shotgun and more directional than the Rode Videomic Pro which is Omni directional. Both types have their uses. As you say a good tripod, following is more challenging and focusing is the major problem for DSLR's, with perhaps the exception of the new 70D. A smaller aperture with a widish lens can cover a multitude of misfocusing :D

The Videomic and Videomic Pro are both Supercardioid mics - definitely not Omnis.

Start with a lavalier for interviews. Use a tripod to begin with. Record cutaways and atmospheric sound too otherwise you'll struggle to edit an interview.

I was once taught that you could cover any activity with 5 shots - Wide shot, medium Close Up, Close Up, Over the shoulder and an arty finish shot. Unfortunately everyone now uses that in the same order.