Bridge cameras - worth it?

Name
Lee
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, I'm looking around for a Christmas present ;) and want to treat myself to a pro cam. My budget would be £300, give or take.

I currently use a Nikon D100 at my workplace (I'm a graphic designer, not a photographer though...) and can get nice pics out of it for our requirements. Studio photography, a few Elinchrom lights, pretty basic shots as the product/angle/environment doesn't change that much.

I would like a camera for hobbyist use, and nice holiday pics. I'm getting to grips with the D100 in manual mode and learning slowly about apertures, shutter speeds, lighting etc, but I feel I couldn't do a full-blown DSLR justice. I currently use a vintage Pentax for holiday shots, but is quite expensive for developing and printing when you are experimenting!

I've been looking at bridge cameras as a halfway house while I still learn the basics. What are people's thoughts on these?

I used a few bridge cameras when i moved from film, mainly Fuji's and was very pleased with the results,especially the later models.I am sure others will be along later to give advise.
I have now moved to DSLR

The problem with a bridge camera is once you have learnt a bit more about photography and want to progress further there is nowhere to go with your bridge. If you get a basic DSLR then you can upgrade the body and keep the lenses or upgrade the lenses and keep the body and work your way up to having better kit bit by bit.

Bridge cameras can do a good job but they are limiting.

Bridge cameras are good, but IMO if you are getting used to a D100 then picking up a bridge camera will probably feel like a step backwards for you.

If you are willing to buy used I expect you could get a DSLR and kit lens for your budget