Critique Christmas day Ant

Name
Graham
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all.
I saw this little lonely Ant out and about on this cold day here, it was a little sluggish.
View attachment 27585

Thanks for looking and any C&C is welcome.

Last edited:
Hi Graham

I am not a Macro expert by any means, like the thought process and the photo and like you say, the image shows it being a little sluggish, but for me the very shallow depth of field looks a little forward ? Possibly if it was a little further away - on it's antenna's ?

Hope this makes sense

Hi Graham

I am not a Macro expert by any means, like the thought process and the photo and like you say, the image shows it being a little sluggish, but for me the very shallow depth of field looks a little forward ? Possibly if it was a little further away - on it's antenna's ?

Hope this makes sense
Hi and thanks, I'm still learning also so I'm no expert. The focus is on the eye in view, f14 ISO 400 1/250 and diffused flash used.
This is my best ant shot to date as the little buggers won't stay still. :D

Maybe they won't stay still because they are anti photographic anyway, and things ant what they used to be

Last edited:
Graham has the focus correct on the eye as it should be. An increase in dof is not always possible at these short distances. Seeing as it's shot at f/14, a fairly optimum stop for this type of shot, there's not a lot of scope for increase.

Last edited:
Graham has the focus correct on the eye as it should be. An increase in dof is not always possible at these short distances.
Merci M bash

Last edited:
Nice shot Graham, the most important part of the image is in good focus so for me that works very well, even when these things are a little slow it can still be very difficult to nail focus. Maybe just a bit cropped from the right would improve the presented composition a touch.(y)

Only my opinion of coarse.,

George.

I totally agree with @BRASH but would word it in a way more similar to @G.K.Jnr. ;)