Beginner Complete beginner - Getting started

Name
Mark
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey guys, first post here.
I'm just about to get started in the world of dSLR photography, having always used a smartphone, and prior to that, Fujifilm point and shoot digital cameras, and even old film cameras.

A friend of mine has gifted me (just waiting for it to arrive) their old dSLR, a cannon EOS 600D. It has the kit lens, ef-s 18-55mm, a flash gun, batteries and memory cards etc. Is this a good starting point ? To start with I just want to learn how to use the manual controls, play around with settings and hopefully get some nice pics.

Eventually I would like to start upgrading, but not sure whether to buy some better lenses for this camera, or save and get a better camera first, once I have a better understanding of the workings. Ie, if I buy lenses for this camera, will they fit an upgraded model? Or if I change brands, would I need new lenses, or can you buy adapters to fit them ?

Any advice much appreciated
Thanks

Hi there
That is some gift enjoy my advice would be to set the ISO to 200 or 400 and learn the relationship between aperture and sutter speed once you understand that you can add the third perameter of ISO in there till you have a good understanding of how to get the correct exposure .
Enjoy it and have fun yes there will be failures but also some good shots shoot plenty. The advice I was given many years ago by a newspaper photo editor was film is the cheapest bit these days no film even cheaper
Good luck

It is a good starting point. With regards to lens upgrades, as you start shooting, you will start to realise what the limiting factors of the lens/body are for you. I would use that to influence your decisions of any upgrades.

Of course it's a good place to start. It's free! If I were you I'd cross your bridges when you get to them.

To put your mind at rest; there’s plenty of upgrade options from the 600d that’ll take any lenses you buy for it.