Beginner Complete Novice-be gentle

Name
jason
Edit My Images
Yes
I've been taking mainly landscapes for the past year but dabbling with different genres. I'm not very good with editing and my kit is a Nikon D3200, Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4, and processed in NIK. This is my daughter. The story I have called Regret. All photos were took on Auto as the light wasn't the best and it was more of a fact finding mission, than trying for quality. I would appreciate feedback and critiques on the subject matter and storyboard, and the set up of the shots. Thanks in advance. I can take harsh criticism so please don't kiss my a***. lol.

DSC_0333.jpg

Last edited:
I suppose someone has to say it but selective colouring is naff in all but a few, count them on a hand over a lifetime, exceptions. The shots in colour are far more appealing.

Other than that, I am not really picking up a story from the sequence, part of that is because there are a lot of shots, a lot of them saying the same kind of thing and then it doesn't really have an ending and I'm not sure much "Regret" is portrayed.

A story needs to have a beginning middle and end.

The story is a love hate relationship between girl and bear. Its an ongoing argument, ending in girl throwing bear down the well, only to regret it then going to save the bear and getting stuck. I kept the love heart red to emphasise the strongest power, linking it to the ending. Keep the comments coming though.

Last edited:
I still class my self a complete novice when it comes to post processing , however for me so long as you are prepared to try something , even if it is a fail , then that's better than nowt.

I couldn't get past the selective colour. Sorry.
This^

It's great that you've built a concept for the shoot, but the execution has failed IMHO due to the competing patterns, incorrect focus, odd composition and mix of processing styles.

I think you could tell the story in 5 shots much more compellingly.