elinchrom pricing

alexkidd

D.O.N.K.E.Y.
Name
Alex
Edit My Images
No
granted the lights are supposed to be pretty decent so price premium is somewhat understandable but

£52.00 for a translucent umbrella when the lencarta equivalent is £17.63

can anyone come up with a legitimate reason for the massive price difference or is it just elinchrom being cocks?

it's actually put me off buying the dlites being sold in the classifieds :/

The difference is professional equipment over amateur ! the Elinchrom gear is built to be used day in and day out for years no just now and again.
I have been using Elinchrom gear since 1990 and still have and use some kit from then.

granted the lights are supposed to be pretty decent so price premium is somewhat understandable but

£52.00 for a translucent umbrella when the lencarta equivalent is £17.63

can anyone come up with a legitimate reason for the massive price difference or is it just elinchrom being cocks?

it's actually put me off buying the dlites being sold in the classifieds :/

Y'know I hear you on this one Alex, over the past month I've been pricing up a mobile rig for outdoors and Elinchrom are not going to be on the list, neither are Profoto or Hensel.

Not at this point anyway. I have the choice of either go cheaper or not at all.

I understand it's good gear and all that but come on.

I had a quote yesterday for 4000 euro for a single ring flash and pack! :thumbsdown:

It's actually cheaper for me buy a petrol powered generator, Walimex gear and an Alien Bee's Zeus ring flash, despite all the extra hands to help out, the power conversion, VAT and shipping.

Lencarta are certainly getting a sniff too, the Safari 600 looks like a good contender.

I've got one, it's actually very good (y) and for not too much extra you can add a couple of Safari portable heads.

I did a mini review of it here!

I've seen that Ed, very good Sir.