Beginner First Attempt in home made studio

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
Yes
My first attempt at doing a protrait shot of me and the wife, i am very new to photography and this was taken in my home made studio. Critique is always welcome as i would like to improve and get better. Image resized and loaded to photobucket so some definition has been lost from the original but you get the idea:ty:

IMG_0109_zpsa9b1e865.jpg

Hi Mike,

Self shoots are always tricky...you probably could have done with another light in front of you to give a bit of fill to the shadows in the faces. Not a fan of the pose - chopped off fingers & the way you are holding her gives it a very confined feel to your lady so I'd definitely be playing about with this. Not sure of what the nakedness adds to the shot - I'd be popping shirts on and making it a nice mantelpiece shot instead.

PPwise, it's a bit too cool and I'd work on the curtain to increase the blacks (just to the BG) in order to make that a pure black background instead of an easily identifiable curtain.

What I do like is your expression - very genuine emotion behind that smile.

Sorry it's not more positive this time round from me :(

Last edited:
Thanks Phil would not disagree with any of the comments on this picture but just to say the nakedness was sort of what i was looking for to show my tattoo etc.

Heres another from the same set as i said primarily to get the tattoos but also try out a few things learnt from this forum;)

IMG_0153_zpse1e93753.jpg

Hi Mike
Good efforts - its not easy doing selfies!

#1 - its to dark to me, far to dark - re-visit your light set up, maybe just use some classic sets as available on any internet search.
You look in focus - but your wife isn't, her eyes and face are soft - revisit your aperture setting to give greater depth of field - or your shutter speed if its movement related.