First timer posting ...

Name
Sara
Edit My Images
Yes
Hope this works. This is my first time posting an image on a forum thread, so please be kind ...

Octoberrosebud3_zps9def3768.jpg

Really like the colours I'm not really a flower person so may not be the right person to comment but think that the composition isn't quite right
The flower should lower down in the shot with a bit more space at the top:)

You see I'm not sure that the flower has the main part here, for me its the spider! It's such a simple contrast between the beautiful flower and the creepy crawly that its captivating! Great work!

Thanks for your comments. I really enjoy doing macro and close up work and this shot was taken in my own garden ... In fact I was doing some weeding when I noticed the spider and had to rush in for my gear. Thankfully it was still there when I got back! I'll dig out another and post again. Something different next time ....

you need a dedicated Macro lens- the spider is lost in the image to be brutally honest

a 105mm macro lens will give you a 1:1 Life size resolution so idea for what you are trying to achieve

like this taken with a Sigma 105mm f2.8 Macro lens

DSC05316 hover fly
by lesmoxonphotography, on Flickr

Les ;)

Thanks Les. I appreciate your comments but the spider was not intended to be the star of the show here. I used a Canon EF 100mm/f2.8 macro for the shot but stood off a little because I wanted both flowers in the frame with the spider as an incidental element. Love the bug shot you've posted here. I'll dig out some of my own insect shots and post one where I'm a lot closer in to the creature .... Who needs all those boring, girly flowers anyway..... :)

Who needs all those boring, girly flowers anyway..... :)