Flower portraits

Name
Dave
Edit My Images
No
Stepping right out of my comfort zone here! Over the last few months I've been buying flash equipment and modifiers to add to the two speedlights I used to use for macro when I thought I was a wildlife photographer. I soon gave up that lark as it's too easy to do boringly and too time consuming to do interestingly - as in no birds or insects with smooth backgrounds! The reason for the purchases was to take better 'product shots' for my business. having got stuck and been stymied with other projects I thought I'd put the gear to use and get to grips with it.

Wildflowers on a white background aren't a new idea. Nothing original here. It's just been a fun exercise for a few days. I had an idea how to do it having read an article on it ages ago. It looked easy enough. And it is!

For anyone who thinks picking wildflowers is wrong everything I've cut has come from my overgrown back wildlife garden!

First attempt.

_7500810.jpg

With the set up sussed it's just been a case of finding flowers and moving one light around, sometimes using a piece of white paper as a reflector.

As these pics are more in the line of illustration or 'art' I'm happy to ignore the usual processing and cropping constraints I try to stick to with more documentary pics.

_7500949.jpg

Something which has been confirmed is that it's not 'all about the light'. If the subject doesn't make the right kind of shapes it doesn't matter what the light is like. Slight repositioning of a flower can make all the difference. As I've done more of these I've got increasingly critical and picky.

I've even been using a tripod, remote release and taking a white balance reference shot. What hasn't changed is using the same lens I've been using pretty much all the time this year. I'm now wishing I hadn't sold a macro lens to help pay for it. :D

Each time I've had a play around, and this really is playing, I've made some improvement or worked something out.