Help get me started with portraits

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
Yes
I am completely new to the art of portrait so I thought I would take the camera out on a family outing today and see if I could capture a couple of quick shots of my Daughter Mya. I have no idea where to start on the processing side of portraits :thinking: so any guidance would be gratefully received (y) Both shots have USM filter run and a little levelling but that is about it. The second shot seems to harsh but that is possibly the rubbish flash used? Basically any help you can offer on processing, framing, lighting etc just to get me thinking in the right direction would be gratefully received (y)

These were both taken with a Canon 40D and Sigma 18-200. Not the best lens I know but I am saving for a 24-70 and this is more discrete then my 35-350L

3376738389_61cf2e7295_o.jpg

Used built in flash - another future purchase
3377552952_afa177d006_o.jpg

Last edited:
I think they are both good shots but to be really picky and I aint no expert

1: the person/coat behind her is distracting and the DOF is a little to tight, I like to try and work out whats behind the model

2: Not bad effort really although looks like shes just come in from the cold and is a bit sniffely....

like the eyes in both shots ..well done

as for how to make better I would just say keep trying and they will get better.

Great pictures, technicaly not the best but beauty is in the eye of the beholder and i bet you are as pleased as puch with these i know i would be if these were of my daughters. I think the only way you could inprove these is to go down the strobist route and control the light instead of shooting with available light alown.

Thanks for the comments guys. I will keep on trying a see what I get.

She certainly was a little sniffely, had to PS that out a little :LOL: and I see what you mean about the coat being distracting.