Critique Hen phessie

Name
Stu
Edit My Images
Yes
This is my first outing or or actually first time I got a tripod and gimbal up to a hare ha two actually got lucky. As an aside from that the reaction, to a clicky thing and a tiny but damn strong little tripod with some of the young game birds was frankly priceless

here's one 1/2500 f11 iso 2500 I dunno keep coming back to this tis as framed not really sure how intentional a lot of what appeals to me was in this,but hey waddaya think?? processed in dpp4 a while back maybe a bit cold?

_70F7276 by Stuart Philpott, on Flickr

all thoughts welcome

stu

Using a tripod and gimbal eliminates the need to reach for
higher SS to compensate for eventual HH camera shake.

— 1/2500, f11, iso 2500
These tell me that the SS is too high, ƒ8 would suffice and
keep you on the better optical side and, finally, considering
the previous settings, the ISO could have been dropped to
more reasonable lower values.

What are your other settings on what camera make, Stu?

No problems with the techs on my part Stu - the camera can handle it and it means you got a nice sharp RAW file t work with.

I do think the shot wold have been stronger without the mush in the left foreground and the clutter top left is unfortunate as well. Pointing the camera slightly over to the right would have removed some, if not all, of this and taken the bird off centre as well for a better composition. Maybe rotating the camera to landscape as well if you had time and had her staring out into the distance? That too would have lessened the foreground distractions.

Mike

Using a tripod and gimbal eliminates the need to reach for
higher SS to compensate for eventual HH camera shake.

— 1/2500, f11, iso 2500
These tell me that the SS is too high, ƒ8 would suffice and
keep you on the better optical side and, finally, considering
the previous settings, the ISO could have been dropped to
more reasonable lower values.