Review Laowa 65mm f2.8 2x Ultra Macro vs Samyang f2.8 100mm 1x Macro (for Fuji X)

Name
Mo
Edit My Images
No
This is not so much a technical review as it is impressions of the two main 3rd party macro lens options for Fuji X. Compared to many of the posters frequenting this forum, I am a relative babe with rather limited (albeit enthusiastically earned) experience. Unlike many here who have taken the step of making a living out of this art form, I make my living elsewhere and belong to the camp of those photographing for (much) enjoyment and pleasure. Take of my opinion what you will.

I started with macro photography around a year ago, a few months after buying my first camera, a Fuji X-T4. At first I experimented with reversing the kit lens, then added extension tubes before enjoying macro photography enough to want to purchase a dedicated lens. I originally wanted the Laowa 65mm but it was out of stock everywhere and I found a Samyang 100mm f2.8 Macro from the classifieds here. My impression will compare how I feel about a newly purchased Laowa 65mm vs 6 months of almost exclusively shooting with the Samyang 100mm (macro or otherwise).

Dimensions and weight
The Samyang 100mm is a hefty 770g, 15cm, 67mm filter thread vs the Laowa's svelte 335g, 10cm, 52mm filter thread. You can actually feel the difference in heft when you carry both lenses. In and of itself the difference might not sound so bad but coupled with my usual setup (X-T4 @ 607g, Smallrig L-bracket @ 138g) with the occasional 85mm filter holder plus an assortment of filters, full size tripod among other things, it really adds up. I dread to think how adding a flash like the Godox V1 or 860iii once I eventually obtain one will do.