Let me join you guys/gals in Macro!!

Edit My Images
Yes
I have always read this section and fascinated with all the nice and sharp marco photo posted by you guys/gals. Bought the Tamron 90mm 1:1 a while back but never got round to do some photo. Today I finally picked up the lens and played in the garden.

Any comments/suggestions/criticize are welcomed but don't be too harsh, I am still learning ;)

I have a query would like to get some advise that the pic 4 & 5, forget about the composition but I can't get any closer of the bugs like others, do I need some more equipment in order to do it or what kind of technique that required to take a closer shot of them?

Thanks for looking.

Tubes maybe, try them. dont be affraid to pay a bit extra for the better ones, altho some people have paid £25 and got great results.
Good start and im also just about to start/try at macro.
Pic 1 is good and the Bg is nice (y)

For a first try very good effort.

My opinion:

#1 composition isnt great I would suggest leaving more space to the left of flower.

#2/3 too many blown hightlights what settings where used. Auto/Av/Tv?

#4/5 if you want to get closer than 1:1 you will need to look at modifiers such as extension tubes (af prefered) or something like raynox would personally avoid close up filters.

Again if you supply settings used we can give a better analysis for you.

Welcome to the mad house! Look forward to seeing more from you. :D

Last edited:
Hi Brya,

thanks for your reply!!

the settings of #2 & 3 were both AV, 2 was f/16, 1/60, iso 400. 3 was f/16,1/60, iso 400.

can't wait to take more photo and hopefully to get a better result, it is good fun and addictive!!!

Welcome aboard and the more the merrier I say. As the others have said, maybe dial in a but of exposure compensation to keep the blown areas at bay.