Beginner Low Tide

Name
Pete
Edit My Images
Yes
Took this awhile ago and quite pleased with it for a complete novice.

Want to get something like this for a print in the lounge as the colours work, I know this isn't good enough for that, but happy with it for a start.

Low Tide by Pete W, on Flickr

Hi Pete. I like it too. What i would suggest for a future shoot would be to elevate the camera a little more so that the zig zag of rocks are a little more visable. This will give you a stronger lead in to the frame. For me a little more detail in the sky would be preferable too.

good elements here...horizontal horizon..it likes that
boosting the tone range..ie sky and adding some warmth to the cool sand tone
the long straight lines beyond the rocky part are imposing a bit on the balance
the real test here is are you happy with it
so am i for your sake and not mine...ie your shot
cheers
geof

i looked at the shot on flkr...and voila you have some really better shots there as well
not that much of a beginner i would say...
cheers

Last edited:
good elements here...horizontal horizon..it likes that
boosting the tone range..ie sky and adding some warmth to the cool sand tone
the long straight lines beyond the rocky part are imposing a bit on the balance
the real test here is are you happy with it
so am i for your sake and not mine...ie your shot
cheers
geof

i looked at the shot on flkr...and voila you have some really better shots there as well
not that much of a beginner i would say...
cheers
Thank you for the comment.

And thanks both for your points.

Last edited:
Pete
This shot is nearly a year old!
Go back and have another go on a day with better light is my advice and try this type of thing when the tide is going out if possible as the sand will be wet then.
I cannot offer too advise about this particular shot as the Exif data is missing so I dont know what you/the camera did.

Pete
This shot is nearly a year old!