My first attempt at a portrait (*another image added*)

chris321

I like the ginger one
Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
I've never actually shot a person before intentionally, so I'm interested to know how I did! The original has a slightly dubious colour cast as a result of bouncing flash of a bright green wall, so I did a bit of processing on it. I'm interested to hear anyone's thoughts, tips, advice etc!

Chris

Last edited:
I like it, particularly the lighting. Although if your after comments, have you done anything to the catchlight in his eye? It seems a tad large, or too bright.If it were muted a bit, it might not stand out as much.
Just my humble opinion...

To be honest I can't fault it, I think its a really good portrait.

Thanks a lot! I really like a lot of your people photos, so I'm really chuffed with that!

yup, very nice particularly for a first attempt

Loks great to me (y)

Thanks a bunch guys, always nice to hear good words, especially when I'm new at this sort of thing!

I like it, particularly the lighting. Although if your after comments, have you done anything to the catchlight in his eye? It seems a tad large, or too bright.If it were muted a bit, it might not stand out as much.
Just my humble opinion...

Yep, definitely after comments or I'll never improve! Erm....'catchlight'...? Is that the technical term for the reflection? I haven't done anything to it, apart from the black and white conversion, and playing with brightness and contrast. Should it not be there? I don't know anything about the technicalities of portraits really, should it not be there? Is it a good thing, or a bad thing? Well I'm assuming bad, but it is a common thing? Sorry for all the questions, animal and landscapes are my usual thing!

Chris

^^^ im with them^^^

^^^ im with them^^^

Thank you!