My first attempts, please crit :-)

Edit My Images
Yes
As I've just posted in my "hello I'm new thread" I'm fairly new to this - only got my Canon EOS 500D a few days ago (but did play around with an SLR some time ago, but didn't go far with it). So these are my first attempts, bearing in mind that I don't know the basic principles of photography and am starting from square one (and they haven't been at all processed as I wouldn't know where to begin). Am picking my favourites and hoping for some constructive feedback - thanks :)

The local woods:

29erarl.jpg

My little girl, late afternoon, dusk is coming:

20b08iu.jpg

Tyre swing in my garden:

2qtv5va.jpg

This is a sculpture that was given to us as a wedding present by a group of friends. I want to get rid of that "Pixie" (is there another term for it?) but one friend (who used to do a lot of film photography) said it was "artistically dishonest" - I think perhaps this doesn't apply to digital photography right? Or you'd never process? And another said it helped the eye as in line with the sunbeam:

2r4o6ir.jpg

This is a buddha candle - I was at a friend's party (I'm only just visible in the mirror, I like that):

2n9ytsn.jpg

A late morning walk in the woods with my little boy - a close up of his face (shame about the graze on his face):

11kwh9i.jpg

hi,just joined a few days ago as well after forking out some hard earned cash on my first dslr.your pics look great,looks like your kids are enjoying themselves.i think the main point is to experiment with your camera and get a feel for it.i dont think there is such a thing as a bad photo as its down to the enjoyment you get from taking pics and the enjoyment you get from looking at them.keep on clicking. Ron

Hi, great first shots, my best advice is to just keep it up and take loads more, you will soon learn what makes a great photo and what makes a mediocre one. :)

Hi there and welcome,