Nikon D40 upgrade thread.........again

Name
Jay
Edit My Images
Yes
I currently have a Nikon D40, with the kit 18-55mm lens and a Sigma 70-300mm lens.

Now I got it about 6 years ago and it's done me well. I just feel now though that it's holding me back slightly and that it's not giving me what I want.

I can't seem to get the pictures looking as sharp as they first did all them years ago. But also I feel I am a bit limited with it's features as I like to do long exposures and the iso is shocking on it and very noisy of late.

Now I know a few bits of the basics but I wouldn't say I am a good photographer so most will probs say stick with what you have and master it. I just feel like an upgrade would get me out there more and help me achieve what I'm after, new start and all that.

I don't know much about what's out there at the minute but I was considering a Nikon D3200, but then the more I looked into it I thought about a D5200 or do I stretch a little more and get a good secondhand D7100?

Also I was thinking of getting a 35mm f1.8 and then maybe saving for a 12-24mm.

Most of the photographer I do is either transport, landscapes, or arcitecture and a lot of night stuff.

Also if I was to go secondhand what shutter count would be classed as acceptable?

Cheers

A D5100 or a D7000 both would be a good or even great upgrades and can be had at good prices new or SH, Really I would not get yourself confused in looking at the others you name, You won't get a SH D7100 with any great saving

Shutter count well. most are good for anything from 100k upwards but maybe look for under 20k
H

Last edited:
Just don't do what I did and end up with a canon 5d3 kit :confused:

My sensible money would go on a d7100, looking at the pictures they looked very against both the d600 and 6d.

I'm biased! :p Love my D90, a huge improvement on my D40 and very reasonably priced too!

....you could get a 1.8 50mm lens too within your budget too if you're lucky!:D