One of those days where you can't get it right!

Name
Jackie
Edit My Images
No
My friend and I are both amateur photo enthusiasts (it's a nice hobby to share). We went to the River Humber yesterday, near Hull, to take some shots of the bridge and its surroundings. Due to time constraints, we went in the afternoon.

Although it was a lovely day, as it was warm, it wasn't a great day for photography! One of those where it's hazy, but a bit damp in the air, overcast with no colour in the sky or anywhere. A case of 50 shades of grey, with some splattering of beige!
I'm not normally "into" architecture as a subject, but the Humber Bridge is an impressive piece of engineering. Albeit rather beige and grey. Anyway, after taking literally dozens and dozens of photos of the bridge and developing them yesterday, there is barely a couple which are, at best okay. To be honest, the bridge ones are just boring and dull. I shot in raw and jpeg (I'm new to using raw), and I know that shooting in raw makes no difference; if a photo is crap, it's crap. I processed them in Elements 11.
One of those days where I had an enjoyable day, but upon processing, it was a massive anti-climax, and I felt I might as well have just taken the photos on my mobile phone camera.

I've not had one of those days in a long time, so I'm just trying to tell myself that it was a combination of the weather and a subject I'm not used to taking! Plus, I think it would have been better at dawn or dusk....maybe. Hey, ho!

Here is the offending photo in B&W.
Yeah, boring as. :meh: :indifferent:
If you click on it, it will send you to the photo on flickr, and Sir SR has already given me some tips on how to possibly improve it.

Humber Bridge
by Jackie XLY, on Flickr

Here is another in colour.
With this, I tried to improve it. But it just looks over-processed. A typical example of processing not being able to polish a turd.

More Humber Bridge (colour)
by Jackie XLY, on Flickr