PC Experts Needed

Name
Bruce
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I will attempt to make this sound simple.

I started to transfer some photos yesterday from a DVD which had been produced on a Mac. This may not be connected?

After I transferred them everything seemed ok, I came out the folder and went back in and the folders started to show empty and were not named anymore but were all symbols etc.

I imm. shut down and started the system back up, I then noticed more folders throughout the hard drive where corrupt. They then dissapeared and turned into those white and blue icons that do not have program associated with it

This hard drive is external and nothing was wrong with any files on my C:

What do you think has caused this and what can I do to recover the files

Thank You

I'm afraid I have no experience of Macs, and I have no idea what the problem is, but for starters you might want to run a system restore/recovery and try to get your PC back to how it was before you copied the files across. You might also want to run an in-depth AV scan on your PC and the external drive.

Have you tried 'check for errors' on your external drive?

You do have backups don't you....

I'm not sure about just how a Mac works, but i came across a problem similar to this some years ago, when a large company nearly went bust, every night they backed up their days accounts by dragging and dropping them onto backup disks, only to find, that come the day they needed them, all they had got were backups of the shortcuts

If you still have the oridinal files then try backing up again