'Photoshoot' - 14th March 2009.

Edit My Images
Yes
Today I managed to get out and shoot some natural light portraits with a model named Charlotte. First up, so as to not shock you too much, these were taken on my newly aquired 5D Mark 2. After much deliberation I have decided that the Mark II is the right camera for me and am delighted to own one again. Enough about that.

Todays shoot was an absolute joy. The model, charlotte has been described as bohemian in the least and is as far removed from glamour as one could imagine. Her stark beauty is incredible and her wispy hair coupled with lovely blue eyes could only really offer me up decent images. By her own admittance, her skin is far from perfect, but as a photographer I think that kind of makes her look unique. She has a real Sissy Spacek feel and all of the Carrie jokes were despensed of rather quickly. My first shoot was in room with two large corner windows acting as soft boxes. I shot these at 50mm (the nifty fifty) a borrowed lens and had to get in tight and ideally an 85mm lens would have been ideal as this is my favourite portrait length by a long chalk. Still, the pictures look great. Usual routine applied, shooting slightly from above for flattering shapes and perspective. A reflector was used to add some fill. All of these images were processed in Canons wonderful DPP software and cut to size in CS4 - a potent combo if you ask me!

3353799145_cef9ce9c22.jpg

3354610804_aaa85d4a57.jpg

We then shot a few frames outside where I over exposed the highlights by a large amount, knowing that I could dial in the shadows later and give the images a nice pop without over egging the pudding. The wind helped create some drama with her hair here which was nice.

3354614024_9cb0c61c0e.jpg

3354615048_7c759dd68d.jpg