Pregnancy bump shots, indoors and out. Any tips please

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
Yes
Some very good friends of mine are having a baby, due in January.
I have offered to do some bump shots as I thought this would be a really good opportunity for some practice. My friend would like some done in some woods as well as some indoor shots.
I just wondered if anyone had any tips for outside shots of bumps, especially when it's cold. We need to be able to show the bump but also my friend needs to be kept warm. I also want to get her husband and two other children, 6 and 3, involved.

I would defiantly appreciate any other advice that's going too ;)

Many thanks, Mike :)

As no one else is stepping up, I'll add I'm no expert.

Firstly, outside at the moment and keeping comfortable is a bit of an ask.

Bumps are best shown bare or covered in sheer materials (that'll be inside ATM)

Look at dramatic side lighting for showing the bump, a gridded strip box would be ideal, if you don't have one, think how you could create a similar effect.

For shots with the kids, get the mum on the floor to reduce the height differences, typically look to create triangles. Try to light that large and soft, I'd go fairly frontal to mitigate your subjects falling into each other's shadows.

Much of that might be teaching granny to suck eggs, it's difficult pitching advice when we don't know your starting point.

If it's pitched too high, just say.

Last edited:
As no one else is stepping up, I'll add I'm no expert.

Firstly, outside at the moment and keeping comfortable is a bit of an ask.

Bumps are best shown bare or covered in sheer materials (that'll be inside ATM)

Look at dramatic side lighting for showing the bump, a gridded strip box would be ideal, if you don't have one, think how you could create a similar effect.