Question keep or ditch?

Edit My Images
Yes
As a beginner I must have hundreds of images, a few I like, most are not great ( and a few really bad ones) my question is do I keep them all? Do I delete the bad ones and file the rest away ( until I master lightroom, which might be a few years the way I'm going !) Can a bad photo really end up being a good photo ( with pp)? and is it worth all the hassle? ( with that I mean why not try to get the image right in the first place? Have I just answered my own question?:D

When I first started out, I remember being told to keep everything!
So I did...well everything except the totally black under exposed & white over exposed ones.

I'd say, if you can buy a cheap 1tb hard drive & store them on there, wait a few months & review.

Some of my favourite personal images are ones that break all the rules of photography.

I tend not to delete anything, but use LR's flagging (pick) feature to identify keepers following a rating session where I have a slightly arbitrary scoring system. A nice shot gets a 4 star rating, an exceptional one a 5*, a nice or exceptional shot that is in effect duplicated or similar or great but not the pick! gets a 3*, or no pick flag and 4*, a technically ok, but meh shot gets a two, and obvious technical issues (oof, camera shake, awkward crop that ruins the image) gets a 1*

Storage is cheap, so I tend not to delete though often do the 1* as I go. However, it's trivial for me to at some stage filter on 1* and delete them all. Everything else would stay. I've often found shots that I've come back to that I'd underestimated, or for some reason (eg a tiny bit of photoshop) can be made great and I had no other 4 or 5 star shots of that image in the set. One of these days I might get more ruthless with my garbage. But I am extremely ruthless when I select my very best images. Generally no more than 1, exceptionally 2 of a similar shot allowed.

Last edited: