Critique Red Admiral Butterfly With 150-500 Sigma

Name
Ian
Edit My Images
Yes
Finally got round to fine tuning my 150-500 Sigma today as I've never felt it was quite right, it was a couple of notches out going on my testing today.

First shots with it since the fine tune, one from each end, thoughts and crit welcomed.

1/250 F/8 ISO400 @500mm

Red Admiral Butterfly
by Ian-Highlander, on Flickr

1/250 F/8 ISO800 @150mm

Red Admiral Butterfly
by Ian-Highlander, on Flickr

Nice :) If you've got Lightroom, try going into the individual colour controls and lowering the luminance on the purple colours. Should be an easy way to get a bit more colour out of the flowers if you want :D

Sorry for the noob highjack, but what exactly do you mean by tweaking the lens, and it being a few notches out?

I'm new to all this and had been looking at the great value sigma 150-500, didn't know it was 'adjustable' any more than any other tele zoom (ie, zoom, focus, aperture) and id love to know what your on about.

Love the images personally. Great stuff.

Thanks.

Sorry for the noob highjack, but what exactly do you mean by tweaking the lens, and it being a few notches out?

I'm new to all this and had been looking at the great value sigma 150-500, didn't know it was 'adjustable' any more than any other tele zoom (ie, zoom, focus, aperture) and id love to know what your on about.

Love the images personally. Great stuff.

Thanks.
The adjustment's made in the camera using the AF Fine Tune function, which is a per lens setting remembered by the camera so you can "fine tune" your lenses. Not all cameras have this option, certainly the higher range Nikons and Canons do but not sure which. I've fine tuned all my lenses this way (except my cheapo Sigma 70-300 as that's not recognised by the fine tune system) and it makes a huge difference.

Personally I use the dot tune method for working out the tuning it needs.

Last edited: