Critique Red Robin (now revised as advised)....

RedRobin

Dances With Dogs
Name
Robin
Edit My Images
Yes
Robin_0846v-1.jpg

^ Canon 70D, Canon 70-200mm f4L IS + 1.4x, 263mm, ISO 400, f6.3, 1/160, Av-mode. I'm a beginner to DSLR but not to photography.

I had to step back quickly to grab this shot of my resident Robin in my garden.

All comments welcome.

:)

IMAGE EDITED - 26th January 2014:

Robin_post_0846v3ns.jpg

^ Like chalk and cheese?

More comments welcome - I need my homework marked, please :D

Last edited:
A red robin by the redrobin nice :)

Some people hate these but I am always pleased to see them in the garden. Its a good pose and well caught but it seems a bit noisy to my eye, cant see the exif to see what your setting where but I am assuming high iso.

Steve

Lovely sharp and colourful image, very nice indeed.

What do you want to hear about this shot Robin? I only ask as I read with interest your thoughts on noise in the other thread. It would be a good idea perhaps for you to give a little bit of info about the shot, what is it you like about it and what you think could be improved.

Robins are one of the most popular birds in the UK, however, there's a couple of members on here who will disagree :rolleyes: I like them though. The image does look noisy, and at iso 400 on a 70D it surprises me. You say you had to step back, so I assume its not a big crop, that again makes me wonder where the noise has come from. It can be corrected by noiseware or similar though.
The other thing that bothers me is the composition. There seems too much wasted space at the top, and too much of the perch at the bottom, yet not enough room for the bird to look into. I would suggest turning this into a landscape rather than a portrait orientation, that in itself would improve the image in my opinion. Hope this helps.

A red robin by the redrobin nice :)