IMG_9154.jpg
    182.6 KB · Views: 76
  • IMG_9174.jpg
    IMG_9174.jpg
    111.1 KB · Views: 78
  • IMG_9183.jpg
    IMG_9183.jpg
    105.8 KB · Views: 76
Hi Philip. Caveat: Please take what you like from this and leave the rest. It's just my opinion. I'm not a professional. Nor am I an expert in flash photography. /caveat.

The most stand-out issue for me what feels like an awkwardness to your subjects. In 2, 3, 4 & 5 I get the feeling people are "leaning" into the frame. It's like they're being scrunched up. Coupled with a few smiles that don't reach the eyes this gives me the impression of tension & discomfort. #1 is much better in this regard as the older lady's smile seems more genuine and she's leaning towards the edge (rather than away from it) A little more space would be nice, but #1 is the best image for me. #4 is the best of the back-to-back poses as it seems much more natural. The smiles still seem forced though. For me - portrait photography is quite a bit about psychology and getting your subject relaxed. I tend to have a few 'lines' held in reserve to get laughs/chuckles - it's a bit like a magicians patter. I tend to explain squinching to people (which usually gets a smile just saying the word) and it gives me something to talk about to try and break the initial tension. It also gets people pulling stupid faces and relaxing into genuine smiles (which is when I pounce).