Soft sigma 24-70mm f2.8?

Gary.D

Hoodie
Name
Gary Derbridge
Edit My Images
Yes
Is this soft or is it just the extreme settings I used.
160th for a portrait is fairly low and f2.8 (ISO 100)

Im getting alot of soft photos which im wondering if it is the lens, or it not being able to cope with these settings.

Thanks in advance.

IMG_9681.jpg

Well there's no arguing that the image you've posted here is soft. Whether it's lens or technique is another question. You'd probably be best to mount the camera on a tripod or use some other form of support and test the lens at different apertures and focal lengths. If you can eliminate human error from the problem then you can pin-point the issue on the lens.
I'd never be satisfied with a lens if this was the sharpest image it could take but it may be down to the sigma performing poorly wide-open...I have no idea if this could be the case because I've no specific knowledge of the lens and its capabilites.
You should also be checking if the problem is down to a focussing problem. By this I mean whether the lens sets focus correctly or possibly infront or behind the desired focus area.

My 24-70 was very good at 2.8 ( had a choice of 6 when i got it in tokyo).
Looks like a focus issue to me, as the bottom bit of the white dress is in focus.
Maybe your camera/lens is front focusing?

Yup, definately seems like either focus issues or an extremely soft lens... Have you just bought this? If so I would take it back for an exchange, or alternatively send it off to Sigma for re-calibrating (will cost if the lens is out of warranty).

Mine is pretty damn sharp, even at 2.8.

Exif says flash fired so could be camera shake with the flash partially freezing the image resulting in the softness shown.

I have the same lens, bought brand new and it is front focusing by about 1cm.. Not much but enough to make the image look soft.