Strobist Advice

Name
Huss
Edit My Images
No
Hi All,

I am really quite new to all this photography so let me apologize in advance if any of my questions are somewhat ill educated or seem silly. Now one aspect that really appeals to me is strobist photography (i hope that is the correct phrase) The problem is when it comes to what equipment to buy it seems to be a bit of a minefield. Hence my post. So I am hoping some of you kind ladies and gentlemen will be able to offer me some pointers.

At present I have a Canon 450D and no flash. I have looked at Canon's own flashes and they seem to get poor reception when compared to Nikon's. However, I have also heard that us canon users, can make use of Nikon Flashes, I seem to remember a piece of advice mentioning SB flashes as a cheap and reliable option, but not sure they would work with my camera. If is is are there any special considerations I need to bear in mind?

I have also heard mention of Vivitar (not sure if it is the correct spelling) flashes as a good option

I am looking to spend about £300 - £400 max So would appreciate any advice offered

Thanks in advance for any advice offered.

as long as you dont expect to mount them on top of the camera, (ie using wireless triggers etc) then you can use a flash set up for any system as long as you can get a cable to fire them. most flashguns have a sync port on the side, or you can get hotshoe adaptors that fix to the bottom, and have a sync port in them.

i would probably buy at least one canon fit flash at least, so that you could mount it on camera if req. as for the rest, i would use wireless(the cactus triggers from ebay seem to have got more reliable from what i have read). remember you will need a reciever for each flash unit.

dont forget stands and brollies/softboxes etc which can really add to your costs.