The Great British Bird Quiz

Yv

TPer Emerita
Name
Yvonne, pronounced Eve...
Edit My Images
Yes
A bit of fun this one really. As I mentioned in the Fly Catcher thread, I saw plenty of birds last week, some of which I know, others I am unsure of. So, I thought I would put it to the audience as it were. More to the point, I would be grateful for the help in identification, as I am still learning about this wold life lark, and loving every minute of it. I just wish we could have managed a shot of the stoats we saw running down the road, twice!!

I must apologise in advance for the quality, or lack thereof, of some of these images. For the majority, it was late afternoon under trees, and the more I start to do this kind of stuff, the more I am feeling the limitations of my sigma 70-300 with its F5 at the 300mm end. I predict a Nikon 70-300VR coming along soon .... or maybe even the 70-200 + teleconverter, but in the meantime, I am making do, and in good light the sigma is pretty fine.

So, here ya go, 9 different birds for you to identify, a couple I know, several I dont....no prizes I am afraid, though bragging rights are obligatory

bird1.jpg

bird2.jpg

bird2a.jpg

bird3.jpg

bird4.jpg

bird5.jpg

bird6.jpg

bird7.jpg

bird8.jpg

bird9.jpg

Goldfinch
Thrush
Thrush
Female Chaffinch
Male Chaffinch
Blue Tit
Greenfinch
Dunnock
Coal Tit
Coal Tit

Nice selection.:)

Smart ass.....:LOL: Well, smarter than me when it comes to birdies. Could you not have made it iron birds from WWll like the Spit or Me110 etc? :rules:

Seriously though, good captures (I know how bl@@dy hard it is to get the little bu@@ers) and good on you CT for knowing them all. (Assuming they are right of course) :LOL::LOL::LOL:

David.

p.s. What's a Dunnock. Pardon my ignorance, I've never heard of it. (Genuinely interested BTW)

David.

:clap: Thankyou CT!! and weyhey, I did get a dunnock afterall :LOL: :LOL: