Thinking of going full frame...

Name
Daniel
Edit My Images
Yes
Afternoon everyone

Firstly, I apologies if there is already a post on this. I thought I remembered seeing a pinned post about it previously but I cannot find it anywhere! Maybe I was imagining it...

Anyway, I've been working on my photography for a few years now, mainly automotive work for magazines. My bodies are low spec, quite old and although great for when I was starting out I feel it's now time to upgrade.

I'm thinking of going full frame however I'm still a little confused about where to start in deciding what to choose and what I need to consider when choosing.

One the main question I have is how I check if my lenses are compatible with a full frame camera? I currently have:
- Nikon 35mm f/1.8
- Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6
- Tamron SP AF 70-300 F/4-5.6 Di VC USD

The second question I have is does anyone have any suggestions on good "starter" full frame Nikon camera? I am by no means a professional so I am not looking for anything within that league. Just something newer and better than I currently have.

Sorry for the long post!
Kind regards,
Dan

The Sigma is meant for APS bodies, but it will still work on a full frame camera in DX mode and above ~16mm in FF.

I would probably recommend a used D700 or D750 depending on budget. But there are some advantages to APS bodies and I think you should consider if FF is really going to benefit you.

I would second the D700 as a way to dip your toes into FF to see if its what you want at not too much money.

dont discount the d610, still a very good camera

Afternoon everyone

Firstly, I apologies if there is already a post on this. I thought I remembered seeing a pinned post about it previously but I cannot find it anywhere! Maybe I was imagining it...