Critique What can I do better?

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi. I'm new to dslr photography and don't get to practice as much as I'd like. I took this today, but I don't just want a photo of a cute duckling, I'd like a good photo. Could anyone advise me what I can do better please? I've done a bit of very basic editing in photoshop. The camera is a Nikon d3100, f/8, 1/4000 sec, exposure -0.7, focal length 300mm, iso1600. Auto WB. The problem is I don't understand all the camera's functions yet and it was a very bright day so I know I didn't get all the right settings. I had the camera in aperture priority. Any help would be really appreciated.

What do you think is wrong with it? It's perhaps a touch underexposed and the ISO is needlessly high at 1600, but it hasn't really wreaked havoc on the image. If you're getting an exposure of 1/4000 you can safely pull the ISO back significantly.

Other than that it's not a bad photograph. I like the central composition (many people have an automatic dislike for central compositions for some reason). The fact the ducks are looking in different directions lends itself to a central composition.

Maybe if you link to a photograph with the kind of style you're aiming for we may be able to offer more specific advice.

It's hard to tell you how to take a "good" photograph if we don't know what you think a good photograph looks like.

I think what I mean is that it looks a bit white in places i.e. on the edges if it's feathers. But it was so bright today. I don't know if I set the camera at ISO 1600 or if it did it! I've had a lesson on aperture priority and I've tried to learn a few things myself but I think I still have a lot to learn - and in photoshop!