£500 for 1st dslr???

Name
Jonathan
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All,

Just joined this forum, the content is great towards some of the other forums i have seen.

Anyway, i have around £500 for my 1st dslr which must include a lens, i will get the other bits and pieces for my 40th in January!!!!

Currently the Canon 450d with twin lens and 4mb card from jessops looks the favourite, the price is approx £550 with £50 cash back, the 2nd lens is a tamron lens whereas the twin canon lens kit is £100 dearer.

The only other dslr around that price range is the Nikon D80 which i understand is being phased out. I would really like to go for a nikon or canon seeing as there is a few 2nd hand lenses and kit around.

So the question is what would you recommend for a complete newbie?

Thanks in advance for any recommendations.

Regards

Jonathan

are you after a new camera or 2nd hand?

The good thing about the D80 is it can use almost any AF lens made by Nikon since the mid 80s

Have you held a 450D, they're quite small

None of the gear I've bought has been new apart from a D300 so I wouldn't be put of by secondhand.

I'd jump straight in at the deep end if I were starting again £400 should buy you a Nikon D200 or a Canon 40D, if you start off with either of these you won't get upgradeitus or be stuck with kit lenses that are worth buttions secondhand.

Find a Nikon 18-70mm for around £100-120 or a Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 for around £200 and you'll be pretty much sorted.

save up and buy a decent longer lens and you won't regret it later on.

So the question is what would you recommend for a complete newbie?