Critique 2 Sisters.

Dale.

Bo Derek
Name
Dale.
Edit My Images
Yes
2 of the 3 Sisters, Glencoe.

After bagging Buachaille Etive Beag on Saturday, plan b (it actually turned into plan C) was to try this one for the second time. I've been there once before but completely bombed, never publishing those images. I'm quite happy with this though, despite the lack of water. It really needs fresh, snow melt, gushing past to really work. I'm still learning ETTR, it's a challenging thing, as the histogram was perfect for this, yet I got blinkies on the highlights in camera. When I processed it, the highlights weren't too bad. I've eased up on shadow recovery lately to avoid the HDR, cartoony look as much as possible and I now lift the exposure in post instead and then tame the highlights.

I always get a shudder when parking for this one, knowing what went on nearby. It's a sketchy spot too, there's not much room for error, you fall, you're probably going in that water. I was suprised too by that pool to the right, I could see the bottom, it was crystal clear but despite the low water level, that pool was an estimated 10 feet deep at least. That tree to the right bugs me, it really does lean like that, as far as I know, it's not distortion but it is something I'll check next time.

Anyway, happy for this one to be torn to shreds, I'm interested in learning this spot better.

2 Out Of 3. by Dale, on Flickr

Last edited:
I like it. Composition is as classic and good as it can be.

You certainly eeked the most out of the day - yeah the lights gone a bit but it's still nice as an overall shot.

One crit - certain spots look better with certain conditions. This is one for just after a period of rain, on a still day so the trees don't blur in exposure. The river is a little light of water.