5div to r6ii worth it?

Name
Jon
Edit My Images
Yes
Is it a worthwhile upgrade? There’s nothing wrong with the 5d, I was just looking at the 28-70 2.0 as a replacement for the 24-70 2.8 ii and then obviously I’d have to swap cameras. I’m not a professional, I make £0 from photography, I have said no to weddings as I didn’t want the hassle, purely for family photos and trips

I’ve watched a few videos and the autofocus on the r6ii looks good but I’m torn. The r5 is a little bit out of budget (£150 memory cards?!) and also, a few years old now, I feel like as soon as I buy it they’ll announce the r5ii or is that worth waiting for and saving up?

Just wondered if anyone went from the 5div to the r6ii and thinks that they made the right or wrong decision? I will use my 70-200 and 85 with an adapter if that makes any difference too

Also, can I use the same batteries as my 5d in the r5 & r6? I already have spares

Thank you

I love my 5Div, had it since 2017, from new. The R6ii has some more up to date features, especially the AF but whilst there's nothing wrong with a 24 MP sensor, my 5D has 30 MP, so that would be a step back, if that's the right way to put it.

I don't see enough of a difference from my point of view to drop the cash on a R6ii but my needs might be different to yours, as I'm wildlife and landscapes.

The R5ii is allegedly coming soon. I'm taking that with a pinch of salt though as I saw it with the R7, rumours on that camera ran for about 3 years. I'm guessing the R5ii will cost significantly more than the Mk1.

I'll be sticking with my 5Div for the foreseeable, backed up with an R7.

Sure you want the 28-70 for family photos and trips? it's nearly 1.5kg. R5 is still great if you need the extra pixels. Batteries are the same.