85 or 100mm..?

Edit My Images
Yes
I am going to be 'doing' a wedding at the end of the year, and have been thinking of getting a prime, and before I go for a fondle at the shop (??) I wondered if any of you have any ideas which to go for - 85 f1.8 or 100 f2.
I have a 50 F1.8, and a 24-105 which is 4.5 att he widest, I think..
My slight leaning is towards to 100, as 85 is not too far from 50, but having no experience of weddings, and hints much appreciated..!
Thanks,
Steve

Steve

The 85mm f1.8 is a cracking value for money and fine piece of glass for the price (sorry I'm still keeping mine, because despite also having a 100mm f2.8, I know I'll regret selling it!)

I've no direct experience of the 100mm f2, but someone on another forum posted these threads, the middle one is definitely worth reading:-

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&t=356858&hw=++100++

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&t=357904&hw=++100++

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&t=359318&hw=++100++

Hope that helps, personally I would go for the 85mm f1.8 not just because I have one, but loads of people give it rave reviews

Mr Perceptive

OK, thanks for the replies so far, and I am going to widen this thread, as I went for a play today.....
Both the 85 an d100 seem pretty good to the touch, BUT, I also handled a 70-200 f4 NON IS and a 70-200 f2.8 IS - bugger me - the 2.8 is is a big thing - no way can I use one of them, and any advantage the 2.8 gives over the f4 non IS has to be lost in 'hand-hold-ability'- I took a shot with the 70-200 f4 NON IS at 1/40th of a second, and it was sharp. The 2.8 was too heavy to hold steady in the shop. Given the price advantage, and I am now keen to try the 70-200 f4 IS versus the non IS - any hints here ?
I still feel that the 100mm might be worth trying , along-side the 70-200 f4 IS - looks like my 70-300 IS might be for sale soon, almost totally unused, but having given me an education about buying untried...