Beginner A 'worthwhile' step up from the Panasonic LX15 compact?

hom

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All,

I bought the LX15 as my first camera a couple of years ago based on it ticking the most boxes over it's closest rivals, and the pros out-weighing the cons. Whilst I continue to have a good experience using it, and am not in any way planning to replace it - it goes everywhere in my pocket - I would like to 'step up' somewhat and get myself something a bit more serious.

The dilemma I have is what kind of thing is a worthwhile step up? I emphasize worthwhile as that's really the important word here. I'm very new to photography and it's still a minor pastime so I certainly don't want to break the bank. The LX15 is currently ~£400, so I guess I'm looking at a max target price of maybe double that. But I can't help but look at a lot of the stuff in that range and see only marginal potential improvements on what I already have, or in some cases what I would consider genuine downgrades. Obviously going to a larger sensor seems like the biggest area of upgrade, but then is that really worthwhile at the price range I'm looking at? Are the photos - assuming I take them correctly of course - going to be noticeably better in image quality using any of the standard kit lens's on offer?

Any suggestions welcome. I have no preference for any manufacturer or type of photography, so any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks.

I've never used an LX15 but I gather it's a 1" sensor compact and therefore might give image quality similar to my TZ100 which is also a Panasonic 1" sensor compact and if that's the case it'll be relatively easy to better it for image quality, if you go looking for the differences. £800 is quite a good budget and will get you some nice kit especially if you'll consider buying used?