Advice for a novice

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi folks, first post on the forum so just looking for some hints, tips, advice and good reference material/links for a novice/beginner.

I received a Nikon D3200 with the 18-55mm kit lens as a gift from my wife. She has also booked me a 1 day introductory course which should help me with the basics.

All I've had to date are very basic compact digital cameras. I have no photography experience at all so the key is for me to get to grips with the basics first and foremost.

I've been playing about with the camera just to get used to it but it's mainly been the automatic functions I've been using. I think I'll mainly be interested in landscape photography. I'm an engineer with a keen interest in architecture so this will also be an area of interest.

I've been advised to buy the book 'Understanding Exposure' and just get out there and get as much practice as possible.

I don't plan to spend much on additional kit until I start getting used to my camera but are there any essential extras/accessories I should consider buying?

A few things that aren't that expensive but are handy. If your going for landscapes a tripod, I started and still have a £30 one from jessops but it's falling apart now. A remote shutter release (a few quid on eBay for a non genuine cabled one)
A couple of cards and a spare battery. (I had a card fail on me even though it was a decent one)
Some nd (neutral density) filters, grads/hard and a holder. Not major money but around £30 again. Then buy more filters when you have a few quid spare.

Hi and welcome to the forum!